Almost every state in this country has a lemon law designed to protect you from defective vehicles. Arizona’s Lemon Law says that if you purchase a new vehicle and it does not meet the standards of the warranty you are promised, then either the dealer or the manufacturer is required to make any and all necessary repairs to bring it up to that standard. Either both of them, or at the very least the manufacturer, will be found to be in violation of the law if a vehicle is not repaired in a reasonable amount of time or within a reasonable number of days.
The Purchase of Used Vehicles
The Arizona Lemon Law is one of the few in this country that also makes provisions for the coverage of the purchase of used vehicles. A used vehicle is covered for repairs that are incurred during the first 15 days that you own it or for the first 500 miles. You should know that you will be required to contact the dealer where you bought the vehicle or the manufacturer to have repairs done and that you might be required to pay up to $25 for the first two repairs.
Statute of Limitations
If you feel that you purchased a vehicle does not obey the warranty standards, then you have every right to expect that the dealer and manufacturer will make good on those express promises. You must though tell them about the defects within the first 24,000 miles or the two first years that you own the vehicle, or the end of the warranty period, whichever of these occurs first. If you feel that you have a claim under the Arizona Lemon Law, the attorneys at Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center® are more than willing to answer all your questions during a free consultation. Visit yourlemonlawrights.com for more information.